

Minutes of the Annual Review and AGM

Scout HQ, 8:00 pm, Wednesday 27th September 2023

18 people were in attendance, from the District and Group, including Trustees, Leaders, Executive Committee members and parents.

1. Welcome and Apologies:

The Chair, Kevin Mead, welcomed everyone to the meeting and noted that several apologies had been received from our volunteer Leaders and a few parents as well.

2. The **Minutes** of the 2022 meeting had been published in advance and were approved without amendment.

Proposed: Simon Williams; Seconded: Dafydd Jones

3. Annual Report & Highlights:

KM noted the highlights of the past year as recorded in the Report as being a successful one in terms of Scouting activities and well-attended camps. Sadly, our Group Scout Leader (GSL), David Shickle had resigned and the role remains vacant, although our District Commissioner, Karl Nicholas is nominally fulfilling the role. Also, he thanked Zoe Dallen who had resigned her role as a Trustee of the Group due to work commitments but welcomed Leigh Hogarty (Apache Akela) as her replacement.

He went on to thank all of our many volunteers who Lead, Assist and help with each Section on a weekly basis. Without them, 7th Epsom could not function and he appealed to anyone who could provide additional help to step forward as we are unable to accommodate a growing waiting list and also having a proper succession plan remains a challenge.

Our annual fundraising is now limited to Community Christmas Post which will again be during the first half of December; also we are planning to hold a group social and quiz night in the spring of 2024.

He pointed out that since April 2023 The Scout Association has renamed Executive Committees as Trustee Boards and each member should be a Trustee with commensurate responsibilities, liabilities and training requirements. 7th Epsom Trustees are currently reviewing the implications for its Executive Committee which remains unaltered currently.

4. Accounts

The Annual Report included the **Audited Accounts** for the year to March 31st 2023. The Treasurer, Simon Williams, highlighted that subscription income had been good and with limited fundraising had enabled us to record a small surplus with our reserves funding the purchase of the new 17-seater minibus. Nevertheless, the Group remained in a solid financial position and **Kevin Mead** recommended the Accounts for approval. **Seconded: Rich Tombs**

5. Group Executive Committee:

In the absence of a GSL, KN had communicated he endorsed that Kevin Mead continued as Chair: Seconded: Simon Williams

The Chair proposed that:

- Simon Williams continued as Treasurer: Seconded: Leigh Hogarty
- Steve Barden continued as Secretary: Seconded: Paul Dewis

6. The Executive Committee:

The Chair announced that Helen Rowan was replacing Kerry Seelhoff as Subscriptions Secretary, with the remainder of the Executive unchanged. He also stated that no new Parent Reps had been nominated for Clearwater and Windfall Beavers, Sioux Cubs and for Explorers so the positions remained vacant. (Parent Reps support the Section Leaders and sit on the Executive Committee).

The other Section PRs were re-elected unopposed. Seconded: Phili Coley

- 7. Appointment of Auditors: Simon Williams proposed that Andrew McDonald continue as Auditor for the forthcoming year.
 Seconded: Tom Morgan
- **8.** Awards: Elaine Mustow, Assistant District Commissioner (Cubs) presented a number of service awards and also awards for completion of Wood Badges.

9. AOB:

- **Steve Barden** confirmed that the Trustees and Executive were in the process of reviewing the 5-year plan which needed some amendments.

There being no other business, the Chair brought the meeting to a close at 20:20 and invited attendees to continue discussions at a local hostelry.